uneven-measures-all-691px

UNEVEN MEASURES Roundtable Discussion Series

This month, I CARE IF YOU LISTEN and American Composers Forum will host a series of Zoom roundtable discussions on gender equity in the contemporary arts as part of our shared UNEVEN MEASURES series. Through interviews, collaborative essays, artist-curated playlists, and live discussions, UNEVEN MEASURES marks the centennial anniversary of the ratification of the 19th Amendment while recognizing the complexity of women’s suffrage and barriers to participation that still exist today.

We welcome you to join us for the following free conversations this month (registration required).


Transformative Power: Women Leading

Thursday, October 8, 2020
3:00pm EDT, 2:00pm CDT, 1:00pm MDT, 12:00pm PDT

Top row: Gabriela Lena Frank (Photo by Mariah Tauger), Lisa Funderburke Hoffman Bottom row: Vanessa Rose (Photo by Julia Gang), Mankwe Ndosi (Photo by Sally Nixon), Stephen Miles (Photo by Nancy Nassiff)

Top row: Gabriela Lena Frank (Photo by Mariah Tauger), Lisa Funderburke Hoffman
Bottom row: Vanessa Rose (Photo by Julia Gang), Mankwe Ndosi (Photo by Sally Nixon), Stephen Miles (Photo by Nancy Nassiff)

Panelists

Gabriela Lena Frank: Composer, Founder, Gabriela Lena Frank Creative Academy of Music
Lisa Funderburke Hoffman: Executive Director, Alliance of Artist Communities
Stephen Miles: Composer, ACF Board Co-Chair, Former Provost, New Music, New College
Mankwe Ndosi: Musicmaker, performer, educator, and culture weaver
Vanessa Rose (facilitator): President & CEO, American Composers Forum

Zoom registration link: https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJMldO2rqDovH9HfpDKbz7eJjU0b_FUCWe0i


Understanding Intersectionality: Gender and Other Identities

Friday, October 16, 2020
2:00pm EDT, 1:00pm CDT, 12:00pm MDT, 11:00am PST

Melissa Dunphy (Photo by Mike VanHelder), inti figgis-vizueta (Photo by Ella Joklik), Jennifer Koh (Photo by Juergen Frank), Mary Kouyoumdjian, Amanda Cook

Melissa Dunphy (Photo by Mike VanHelder), inti figgis-vizueta (Photo by Ella Joklik), Jennifer Koh (Photo by Juergen Frank), Mary Kouyoumdjian, Amanda Cook

Panelists

Mary Kouyoumdjian: Composer/Documentarian
inti figgis-vizueta: Composer
Jennifer Koh: Violinist
Melissa Dunphy: Composer
Amanda Cook (facilitator): Editor-in-chief, I CARE IF YOU LISTEN

Zoom registration link: https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJ0td-qrpzwvH9IR2202Er8thH6NeawPfoKJ


Advocating for Gender Equity

Monday, October 19, 2020
5:00pm EDT, 4:00pm CDT, 3:00pm MDT, 2:00pm PDT

Top row: Terri Lyne Carrington (Photo by Tracy Love), Nirmala Rajasekar (Photo by Mohan Sengottaiyan)<br /> Bottom row: Aiden Feltkamp (Photo by Aumna Iqbal), Niloufar Nourbakhsh (Photo by Michael Yu), Sarah Cahill (Photo by Christine Alicino)

Top row: Terri Lyne Carrington (Photo by Tracy Love), Nirmala Rajasekar (Photo by Mohan Sengottaiyan)
Bottom row: Aiden Feltkamp (Photo by Aumna Iqbal), Niloufar Nourbakhsh (Photo by Michael Yu), Sarah Cahill (Photo by Christine Alicino)

Panelists

Sarah Cahill: Pianist, Writer, and Producer
Terri Lyne Carrington: Drummer, Producer, and Founder & Artistic Director, Berklee Institute of Jazz and Gender Justice
Niloufar Nourbakhsh: Composer, Pianist, Founder, Iranian Female Composers Association
Nirmala Rajasekar: Veena virtuoso, educator, ACF Board Co-Chair
Aiden Feltkamp (facilitator): Librettist, Director of Emerging Composers and Diversity, American Composers Orchestra

Zoom registration link: https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJAkdO6vpjksHNSIuN7-UxtBE77-uPrhjIxR


 

UNEVEN MEASURES is a series dedicated to amplifying today’s women, trans, and nonbinary artists on the centennial anniversary of the 19th Amendment leading up to the 2020 presidential election. This series is made possible through a generous grant from The Elizabeth & Michel Sorel Charitable Organization Inc. to the American Composers Forum and their partnership with I CARE IF YOU LISTEN. The Sorel Organization is committed to supporting gender equity in music and addressing systemic inequities by providing greater visibility for women musicians from underrepresented communities.

I CARE IF YOU LISTEN is a program of the American Composers Forum, funded with generous donor and institutional support. A gift to ACF helps support the work of ICIYL. Editorial decisions are made at the sole discretion of the editor-in-chief. For more on ACF, visit the “At ACF” section or composersforum.org.